Skip to content
South Ayrshire Counts — South Ayrshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Ayrshire, in numbers

People and living standards

South Ayrshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Ayrshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 113,120 in 1991 to 112,280 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 113,540 people in 1996; 112,280 people in 2025. 1.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991113,120
1992113,100
1993113,280
1994113,550
1995113,620
1996113,540
1997113,620
1998113,320
1999112,850
2000112,290
2001112,160
2002111,690
2003111,550
2004111,840
2005112,030
2006112,100
2007112,380
2008112,610
2009112,490
2010112,600
2011112,980
2012112,900
2013112,710
2014112,440
2015112,260
2016112,200
2017112,400
2018111,990
2019112,010
2020111,470
2021111,560
2022111,560
2023112,050
2024112,270
2025112,280
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,377 people in 1996; 16,554 people in 2025. 22.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,876
199221,723
199321,710
199421,748
199521,521
199621,377
199721,225
199821,056
199920,981
200020,624
200120,255
200219,869
200319,558
200419,271
200519,190
200618,944
200718,919
200818,908
200918,705
201018,490
201118,434
201218,208
201317,929
201417,701
201517,638
201617,572
201717,520
201817,472
201917,502
202017,354
202117,146
202216,906
202316,839
202416,735
202516,554
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,479 people in 1996; 64,290 people in 2025. 10.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199171,093
199271,074
199371,155
199471,393
199571,558
199671,479
199771,569
199871,252
199970,820
200070,441
200170,381
200270,080
200370,088
200470,488
200570,474
200670,614
200770,624
200870,447
200970,142
201070,117
201170,118
201269,445
201368,952
201468,343
201567,844
201667,419
201767,167
201866,422
201965,846
202065,240
202165,107
202264,933
202364,912
202464,722
202564,290
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,684 people in 1996; 31,436 people in 2025. 52% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,151
199220,303
199320,415
199420,409
199520,541
199620,684
199720,826
199821,012
199921,049
200021,225
200121,524
200221,741
200321,904
200422,081
200522,366
200622,542
200722,837
200823,255
200923,643
201023,993
201124,428
201225,247
201325,829
201426,396
201526,778
201627,209
201727,713
201828,096
201928,662
202028,876
202129,307
202229,721
202330,299
202430,813
202531,436
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 111,532 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · South Ayrshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total109,04697.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 112,799 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · South Ayrshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White111,28298.7%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller980.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group2820.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian2780.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1590.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi130%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2760.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1690.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1390.1%
Other Ethnic Group1030.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Ayrshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,377 per person in 1997; £24,714 per person in 2024. 163.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,377
19989,524
199910,008
200010,442
200111,105
200211,449
200312,126
200412,831
200513,242
200613,938
200714,340
200814,953
200915,234
201015,668
201115,973
201216,530
201317,071
201417,413
201517,628
201617,859
201717,753
201818,130
201918,733
202018,849
202119,966
202220,952
202322,798
202424,714
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Ayrshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.6% in 1997; -4.8% in 2024. 6.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.6
1998-12
1999-11.5
2000-12.3
2001-10.2
2002-9.5
2003-7
2004-5.5
2005-5.8
2006-4.8
2007-6.5
2008-5.1
2009-4.9
2010-3
2011-2
2012-2.1
2013-2.5
2014-3.7
2015-7.3
2016-7.3
2017-9.9
2018-11.2
2019-11.1
2020-10.2
2021-8.6
2022-8.8
2023-6.8
2024-4.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · South Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · South Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£172,000

July 2026 · South Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.